Lady of Perpetual Grievances

Lady of Perpetual Grievances 03

First Lady Michelle Obama said she faced “harassment” all her life.

“As I got older, I found that men would whistle at me as I walked down the street, as if my body were their property, as if I were an object to be commented on instead of a full human being with thoughts and feelings of my own.”

“I began to realize that the hopes I had for myself were in conflict with the messages I was receiving from people around me.”

“As a child I noticed favoritism towards boys in lasses. Teachers would call on the boys instead of the girls, even though the girls had better grades.”

“Me and my female peers were continually passed over in the classroom, in favor of the male students.”

“I had mediocre grades, but thanks to affirmative action, I was admitted to Princeton and then Harvard Law School.”

“Teachers would ask her brother what kind of job he hoped to get while they asked her what kind of man she wanted to marry.”

“I decided not to listen to the voices of those who doubted or dismissed me. Instead, I decided to listen to my own voice.”

“Like most women, I know what it feels like to be overlooked.”

“Over the years, folks have used plenty of interesting words to describe me. One said I exhibited a little bit of uppity-ism. Another noted that I was one of my husband’s cronies of color. And Cable news once charmingly referred to me as Obama’s Baby Mama. ”

“For the first time in my adult lifetime I was really proud of my country.”

“How hurtful it was as the first lady in Target when a shorter women asked me to help get something off a shelf for her.”

“Such “incidents are the regular course of life for African-Americans and a challenge for the country to overcome.”

“Further integration and/or assimilation into a white cultural and social structure will only allow me to remain on the periphery of society; never becoming a full participant.”

“You might remember the on-stage celebratory fist bump between me and my husband after a primary win that was referred to as a terrorist fist jab.”

“My husband and I know how frustrating that experience can be. We’ve both felt the sting of those daily slights throughout our entire lives. All of that is going to be a heavy burden to carry.”

Perhaps our “Lady of Perpetual Grievances” should have spent a bit “more time thinking” about her answer to the question “what kind of man do you want to marry?…”

Lady 01A community organizer?

Lady 02Choom Gang Banger?

Lady 03Martial Arts Expert?

Lady 04Leader from behind?

Lady 05Fuck America?

Lady 06Athlete?

Lady 07International Leader?

Lady 08Brilliant Campaign Strategist?

Lady 09Hopeless Romantic?

Lady 10Eloquent, Articulate Speaker?

Lady 11Tango King?

Lady 12Gay Blade Runner?

Lady 13Disappointed World Leader?

Lady 14Self-involved Narcissist?

Lady 15The Light Bringer

Lady 16Jesus Himself

…and a little “less time worrying” about how she was being “objectified, marginalized and otherwise denied her rights.”

Soul of a Devil 00

If she had, she may “never” have entered into a “pact with the devil.”

Men Used To Whistle At Michelle Obama And She’s Not Happy About It
I Feel Alienated, and That’s Proof of America’s Racism
The First Lady’s Moving but Untrue Stories of Racial Slights
No, Mrs. Obama, America’s Museums Aren’t Racially Discriminatory
Michelle Obama’s Tales of Radicalized Victimhood

Michelle Teaches Argentinean Girls about Catcalls and Chauvinism

Leave a Reply

